

Annual General Meeting

April 10, 2017 11:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. Cornett Building – RM B108

DRAFT MINUTES

In Attendance: 43 Members Quorum: 20

Chair: Helga Hallgrímsdóttir, President

1. Opening Remarks

- a. Welcome
- b. Acknowledgement of Coast Salish traditional Territory
- c. Introduction of Presenters
- d. Meeting Protocol Robert's Rules

2. Approval of Agenda

Motion: THAT the Agenda be approved.

(Judith Clarke/Elena Pnevmonidou) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

3. Approval of Previous OGM Minutes

a. OGM – 23 November 2016

Motion: THAT the above listed meeting Minutes be approved as amended.

(Martha McGinnis/Judith Clarke) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

4. Officer Reports

- a. President Helga Hallgrímsdóttir
 - i. General Update
 - ii. Policy Consultation
 - iii. JCAA
 - iv. Advocacy Agenda

Motion: THAT the Association's 2017-18 Advocacy Agenda as outlined in the President's Report be adopted as key priorities for the 2017-18 Executive Committee.

(Doug Baer/Annalee Lepp) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

NOTE: Additional Member items for consideration as part of the 2017-18 (or future) Advocacy Agenda activities include: Vacant Canada Research Chair positions at the University of Victoria; the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's 94 Recommendations; and Pensions and Pay Equity.

v. Departmental Liaisons



- vi. Bylaw Changes
- b. Treasurer *Rebecca Warburton*
 - i. Auditor's Report for the period February 1, 2016 to January 31, 2017 Wiseman & Mills
 - ii. Treasurer's Year End Report
 - iii. 2017-18 Final Budget

Motion: THAT the 2017-2018 Final Budget, as presented at the April 2017 Annual General Meeting, is accepted.

(Teresa Dawson/Sonya Bird) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

NOTE: A question arose to Executive Committee to consider less "pessimistic" budget projections, specifically regarding member dues revenues. Also, that the AGM report include more discussion around the larger budgeted to final variances.

iv. Appointment of the Auditor for 2017-18

Motion: THAT Wiseman & Mills be appointed as the Auditor of the University of Victoria Faculty Association for the 2017-2018 fiscal year.

(Monica Prendergast/Louise Page) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

- c. Secretary Monica Prendergast
- 5. Standing Committee and EC Portfolio Reports Written Reports Only
 - Equity Committee
 - Disability Committee
 - Compensation & Benefits Committee
 - Constitution & Bylaws Committee
 - Teaching Faculty Committee
 - Librarian's Committee
 - Academic Freedom and Education Portfolio
 - Disability Portfolio
 - Chairs Portfolio
 - Research Portfolio

6. Other Presentations and Reports

- a. Membership Services *Teresa Dawson*
- b. BC FA Update and Provincial Affairs Michael Conlon
- c. CAUT Dedicated Service Award Dr. Mary Lesperance

7. Presentation of the Nominations Slate, Nominations & Elections

a. 2017 Slate of Candidates - Annalee Lepp



b. Open Floor to Nominations

NOTE: A call to the floor for additional nominations was held and repeated 3 times. No further nominations were received.

Motion: THAT the final 2017-2018 Nominations & Elections slate as presented at the AGM be elected by acclamation.

(Monica Prendergast/Louise Page) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

8. Business Arising

a. Ratification of Association Committee Appointments - Helga Hallgrímsdóttir

Motion: THAT the Executive Committee's appointment of Rebecca Raworth to the Equity Committee (to replace Ying Liu who has resigned) as the Librarian Representative for a term ending on April 30, 2019 be approved.

(Kathleen Matthews/Sonya Bird) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

Motion: THAT the Executive Committee's appointment of Margaret Scaia to the Teaching Faculty Committee (formerly known as the ATP and Senior Instructors Committee) to replace Heidi Tiedemann-Darroch for a term ending on April 30, 2017 be approved.

> (Stephanie Willerth/Annalee Lepp) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

9. Constitution and Bylaws

b. Final Draft Proposed New Association Bylaws – Helga Hallgrímsdóttir & Martha McGinnis

Motion: THAT the final draft of the Association's Proposed New Bylaws be approved for distribution to all Members for a ratification vote by electronic ballot, opening on April 18, 2017 and closing on May 2, 2017.

(Conrad Alexandrowicz/Martin Farnham) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

Motion: THAT the Association appoint <u>Sonya Bird</u> and <u>Martin Farnham</u> as scrutineers, with <u>Elizabeth</u> <u>Gual</u> as an alternate, for the Association's Proposed New Bylaws ratification vote proceedings.

> (Monica Prendergast/Teresa Dawson) CARRIED No: 0 / Abstain: 0

10. Adjournment