The Association is governed by an Executive Committee, nine Standing Committees, a representative Council. Association Staff, with the support of the President, manage the daily operations of the Association Office and provide direct Member support.

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) is comprised of eleven elected members and the past President and meets on a monthly basis. EC members serve a two-year term. Elections for the EC usually occur annually at the Spring Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The Nominations and Elections Committee will seek nominees from the Membership and then present the Nominations Slate at the AGM for election or, if the vacant positions are not contested, for ratification.

NamePositionDate Elected  
Helga Hallgrimsdottir (PADM)PresidentRE-ELECTED: April 12, 2018
Lynne Marks (HSTR)Interim Vice-PresidentAPPOINTED: July 1, 2018
Martha McGinnis (LING)SecretaryELECTED: April 10, 2017
Rebecca Warburton (PADM)TreasurerRE-ELECTED: April 10, 2017
Anthony Vickery (THEA)Teaching Faculty RepresentativeTFC ELECTED:May 2017
Doug Baer (SOCI)Past PresidentEX-OFFICIO
Bill Blair (LIBR)Librarian RepresentativeFA-LC ELECTED: April 30, 2017
Judith Clarke (ECON)Member-At-LargeRE-ELECTED: April 10, 2017
Victoria Wyatt (AHVS)Member-At-Large; Equity & Disability PortfolioRE-ELECTED: April 12, 2016
Annelee Lepp (GNDR)Member-At-LargeELECTED April 11, 2018
Eric Cormier (MATH)Member-At-LargeELECTED: April 11, 2018
Patric von Aderkas (BIOL)Member-At-LargeAPPT: June 14, 2018


The Standing Committees

The duties and responsibilities of the Standing Committees as provided for in the Bylaws is outlined below.

Advising and Dispute Resolution Committee

This seven-member, appointed committee by the Executives holds the responsibility of reporting to each Executive meeting, monitoring disputes arising out of the application of the Collective Agreement, and providing advice to Association staff responsible for providing Member assistance. As well as making recommendations to the Executive Committee regarding the carriage of a grievance.

NameDate Appointed
Helga Hallgrimsdottir - Ex-Officio (President)EX-OFF: April 12, 2016
Lynne Marks - Ex-Officio (Chairs Portfolio)EX-OFF: January 1, 2018
Laurel Bowman RE-APPT: May 12, 2016
Victoria Wyatt RE-APPT: April 7, 2016
Scott Johnston - Librarian MemberAPPT: December 8, 2015
Richard Pickard - Teaching Faculty MemberRE-APPT: April 7, 2016
Chris Bose - CHAIR - EFFECTIVE SEPT 1 2018APPT: May 2, 2017
Caterina Valeo APPT: May 2, 2017
Tad Suzuki - Librarian Member APPT: June 22, 2017
Judith ClarkeAPPT: May 2, 2017
Valerie KingAPPT: June 22, 2017


 Disability Committee

This Committee consists of five elected members. Their role is to advise the Executive and Council regarding policies and procedures affecting Members with a disability, including chronic illness.

Victoria WyattChair - Re-Elected
Jessica MusselMember - Re-Elected
Katherine BertoniMember - Elected
Chris AuldMember - Elected
Hua LinMember - Elected

Disability TOR

Equity Committee

This Committee consists of seven members. Their role is to advise the Executive and Council regarding any identified inequities associated with gender, Indigenous status, other minority status, disability, or other attributes determined by the Committee.

Maureen Bradley - ChairELECT: April 12, 2016
Rebecca RaworthELECT: April 12, 2016
Melissa GouthierELECT: Dec 6, 2017
Shane BookAPPT: July 1, 2018
Maycira CostaRATIF: Nov 23, 2016
Laura ParisiRATIF: Nov 23, 2016

Equity TOR

Nominations and Elections Committee

This Committee consists of five members: Three elected members, the Past President, and an Executive member appointed by the Executive. Their responsibility is to solicit nominations for Faculty Association positions.

Sony Bird - ChairRE-ELECT: April 10, 2017
Anthony QuasELECT: April 11, 2018
Margo MatwychuckELECT: April 10, 2017
Lynne MarksAPPT: July 1, 2017
Doug BaerAPPT: May 2, 2017


Librarians Committee

This Committee consists of the Librarian member of the Executive, and four (4) additional members elected by a ballot of all Librarians. Their responsibility is to represent the interests of Librarian Members within the Association.

Carol GordonELECT: May 2, 2018
Alex BurdettELECT: May 2, 2018
Bill Blair - Ex-Officio, Co-ChairELECT: April 30, 2017
Jessica Mussell - Co-ChairELECT: April 30, 2017
Heather DeanELECT: April 30, 2017

Librarians TOR

Teaching Faculty Committee

This Committee consists of the Teaching Faculty member of the Executive, and four additional elected members. This Committee represents the interests of the Teaching Faculty within the Association.

Matt Pollard - ChairELECT: April 30, 2017
Anthony VickeryEX-OFF: April 11, 2018
Christopher EagleELECT: April 11, 2018
Richard PickardELECT: April 30, 2017
Sara HumphreysELECT: April 11, 2018


Collective Agreement Committee

Helga HallgrimsdottirEC President – Ex-Officio
Lynne Marks - ChairELECT: Dec 6, 2017
Rebecca WarburtonRE-APPT: May 7, 2018
Harry KwokELECT: April 10, 2017
Patrick von AderkasAPPT: Sept 21, 2018
Elisabeth GuglRE-ELECT: April 10, 2017
Phalguni MukhopadyayaAPPT: Sept 21, 2018
Victoria WyattAPPT: April 20, 2018
Richard PickardAPPT: May 12, 2016
Alex BurdettAPPT: Sept 21, 2018
Analee LeppAPPT: Oct 29, 2018
Susan StregaNegotiating Team – Ex-Officio



Margo MatwychukAnthropology
Erin CampbellArt History & Visual Studies
Doug BriantBiochemistry & Microbiology
Louise PageBiology
Simon PekBusiness
Irina PaciChemistry
Caetano DoreaCivil Engineering
Jason CorlessComputer Science
Mike EmmeCuriculum and Instruction
Jody KlymakEarth + Ocean Sciences
Martin FarnhamEconomics  (1/2 liaison)
Joan MartinEducational Psychology and Ldrshp Studies
Christo PapadopoulosElectr & Comp Engineering
Jamie DoppEnglish
Valentin SchaeferEnvironmental Studies
Tim HopperExercise Science Phys & Health Education
Marc LapprandFrench
Laura ParisiGender Studies
Reuben Rose-RedwoodGeography
Matt PollardGermanic & Slavic Studies
Laurel BowmanGreek and Roman Studies
Alex KuoHealth Info Science
Pablo Restrepo-GautierHispanic & Italian Studies
David ZimmermanHistory
Devi Dee MucinaIndigenous Governance Programs
Dr. Patrick NahirneyIsland Medical
Heather DeanLibrary
Suzanne UrbanczykLinguistics
Ryan BudneyMathematics & Statistics
Stephanie WillerthMechanical Engineering
VACANTMedical Sciences
Merrie KlazekMusic
Margaret ScaiaNursing/HSD
Martin AdamPacific and Asian Studies
Klaus JahnPhilosophy
Robert KowalewskiPhysics & Astronomy
Amy VerdunPolitical Science
Adam KrawitzPsychology
Emmanuel Brunet-JaillyPublic Administration
VACANTPublic Health & Social Policy
Gayle PloyerSocial Work
Martha McMahonSociology
Conrad AlexandrowiczTheatre
VACANTVisual Arts
Maureen BradleyWriting
error: Content is protected !!